About Past Scholars
2018-2019 Scholars
Kaitlyn Torney

Kaitlyn Torney

Kaitlyn Torney is 23 years old and has a one year old son named Kaiden who means the world to her. She is majoring in Animal Science at the University of Maryland with the concentration in Animal Care and Management. She is one of the eleven siblings who are all very close. She grew up in Calvert County and eventually moved to be closer to school and have better job opportunities. She grew up around animals throughout her childhood. She can’t remember a time that she didn’t have a pet of some sort. She is currently a Vet Assistant at Banfield Pet Hospital and loves her job. She has been at Banfield for about 2 years now and have been given the opportunity to grow tremendously there with her technical and leadership skills. She has a dog named Denali who is also a year old. Kaiden and Denali are inseparable. She hopes to either become a Veterinarian or work for the USDA. She currently lives in Silver Spring where she alternates from going to school and working on the days she doesn’t have class. In her spare time, one can find her reading a book, sketching in a sketchbook, or binge watching Netflix shows. Her absolute favorite thing to do however, is spending time with her family.

2017-2018 Scholars
Jaclyn Matikas '18, Arts and Humanities

2016-2017 Scholars
Jessica Ruark '19, Agreculture and Natural Resources
Dena Morales Avelar '18, Behavioral and Social Sciences

2015-2016 Scholars
Tatiana Lopez '17, Behavioral and Social Sciences
Daniel Trujillo '17, Behavioral and Social Sciences

2014-2015 Scholars
Mehdi Amer-Moussa ’15 Engineering
Anthony Brearly ‘16 Biology
Daniel McLaughlin ’16 Computer Science
Blake Wheeler ’16 Letters & Sciences
Hokyoung Jang
Shayan Navaie

2013-2014 Scholar
Michael Blair

2012-2013 Scholars
Karine E. Parry
Bradley Green

2011-2012 Scholar
Brandon C. Fobeteh

2010-2011 Scholars
Steven C. Koenig
Justin M. Faircloth

2009-2010 Scholars
James D. Harrell
Justin M. Faircloth

2008-2009 Scholars
William I. Jun
Dobrian G. Zaprianov
Russell E. Samuels
Naseem B. Shaat
Patrick J. Ware
Christopher D. Gillis
Robin K. Todd
2007-2008 Scholars
John Lightle
William J. Kool
Matthew M. Schaber
Sonya A. Owens-Cobblah
Thomas G. Hamblin
Daryl C. Moten

2006-2007 Scholars
Jeffrey R. White
Amal M. Athieu
Michael A. Blair
John R. Minaert
Roberto I. Cabrera
Mia R. Davidson
Erik J. Sjoberg
Thomas G. Hamblin
Domenic P. Mallardi

2005-2006 Scholars
James E. Styslinger
Amanda M. Slaybaugh
David L. Oliver
Laura J. Bellomo
Naz Amini
Subrina V. Bradley
Sallie J. Shelton
Charles A. Lucas

2004-2005 Scholars
Naimah A. Burns
Robert C. Fitch
Joseph W. Easley
The University of Maryland
Division of Student Affairs ▪ Office of Development and External Relations
8400 Baltimore Avenue, Suite 200 ▪ College Park, MD 20740
sagiving@umd.edu ▪ (301) 314-4900