About Past Scholars
2018-2019 Scholar
Jerome Quenum
Jerome Quenum

Jerome Quenum electrical engineering student at the University of Maryland who is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Originally from Benin, West Africa, he moved to the United States in 2013. Throughout his journey, he was able to serve as a STEM ambassador, volunteering in middle school and high school engineering outreach programs. He also tutored in various Math and Science centers to help fellow students improve their problem-solving skills. As a member of the Society of Physics Students, he presented at the 2015 meeting of the American Association of Physics Teachers. He is currently the secretary of the UMD IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Eta Kappa Nu chapter, the the Secretary of the Engineering Students Council and the project chair of IEEE at the University of Maryland. As he is currently serving the U.S. Army reserve, he is simultaneously participating in the Army Reserve Officers Training at Corps the (ROTC) at the University of Maryland in order to earn a commission as a second lieutenant upon graduation. After completing his bachelor’s degree, he plans to pursue a doctorate degree in electrical engineering.

2017-2018 Scholar
Kirsten Jones
Kirsten Jones

She is currently pursuing a Mechanical Engineering degree with a minor in Engineering Leadership Development and is on track for graduation in December of 2018. Currently, she is encouraging her peers to do good for the university by her involvement with Food Recovery Network and MaryPIRG (Maryland Public Interest Research Group). Her goals are focusing on reducing waste in Maryland as well as educating the public on current government policies that may affect students. She is part of Alpha Omega Epsilon, the professional engineering sorority at University of Maryland. Alpha Omega Epsilon has numerous professional and philanthropic events to help strengthen relationships within the organization and also with the community. For her future goals she is interested in researching viable renewable energy for the benefit of future generations.

2015-2017 Scholar
Wendolyn Lopez

2014-2015 Scholars
Elisa Moon
Bessy Turcios

2013-2014 Scholars
Pamela Marquez
Bessy Turcios

2011-2012 Scholar
Remy V. Ganye

2010-2011 Scholars
Melba Yvette Muschette
Marci G. Deloatch

2009-2010 Scholar
Marla S. Bonner

2008-2009 Scholar
Donal W. Oldaker

The University of Maryland
Division of Student Affairs ▪ Office of Development and External Relations
8400 Baltimore Avenue, Suite 200 ▪ College Park, MD 20740
sagiving@umd.edu ▪ (301) 314-4900